Boy Scout Ranks

The rank requirements shown here are official as of January 1, 2018.  If a Scout has started work toward a rank before this date using requirements that were current before January 1, 2018, except as noted, he may complete that rank using the old requirements.  Any progress toward a rank that is begun after January 1, 2018, must use the requirements as they are shown on the respective rank pages here.  

Following are the ranks of Scouting.  Click on the respective rank or rank insignia for the requirements a Boy Scout must achieve to attain the respective rank.  While it is recommended and encouraged that Scouts complete their Scout rank exclusively, the requirements for Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class ranks may be worked on simultaneously; however these ranks must be earned in sequence
Boy Scout Rank Requirements source: Boy Scout Requirements: 2018 Edition



Second Class

First Class




Eagle Scout




this page last reviewed / updated: November 2018