Past Events
Boy Scout Ranks
Merit Badges Index Page
Merit Badge Workbooks Page
Merit Badge Counselors Page
Other Boy Scout Awards Page
Scoutmaster Bucky Approved
Great Scout Resource Links

Cubmaster Bob Katt

    a website for Cub Scouting

Advisor Kodi

     an area for Venturing


Palms Requirements




NOTE: Palms are NOT considered ranks by the BSA



Requirements:                                                                                                          source: Boy Scout Requirements, 2013 Edition

After becoming an Eagle Scout, you may earn Palms by completing the following requirements:


Be active in your troop and patrol for at least three months after becoming an Eagle Scout or after award of last Palm. *


Demonstrate Scout spirit by living the Scout Oath and Scout Law in your everyday life.


Make satisfactory effort to develop and demonstrate leadership ability.


Earn five additional merit badges beyond those required for Eagle or last Palm. **


Take part in a Scoutmaster conference


Complete a board of review

You may wear only the proper combination of Palms for the number of merit badges you earned beyond the rank of Eagle.  The Bronze Palm represents five merit badges, the Gold Palm 10, and the Silver Palm 15.

*  Eagle Palms must be earned in sequence, and the three month tenure requirement must be observed for each Palm

** Merit badges earned anytime since becoming a Boy Scout may be used to meet this requirement


this page last reviewed and updated - January 2013